The Pregnancy Metamorphosis- Becoming a Butterfly

So I don’t know if it is the pregnancy hormones, or just being a mom, or all the negative stuff I have seen lately, but I was thinking about this on the drive to work today.

Today is Thing 1 and Thing 2’s birthday- they turn 9. So bittersweet- their last year in single digits! This mama is getting old.

I was thinking about how much they changed my life with the surprise of having them- my ex -husband and I stream lined our marriage (young, dumb, and deploying)- we went from single to married in less than 3 months- and less than 3 weeks after our first wedding anniversary we became a family of four. So much changed then. I went from a girl (I was only 18 when we got married and I became pregnant just months later) to a mother in a matter of a year (though back then I am sure I would’ve told you I was plenty the adult- and I was, but not the adult I am now, ten years later).

That’s when I started to think about it- pregnancy is like a cocoon- a metamorphosis, where the caterpillar becomes a butterfly- only, when they baby emerges you are suddenly a mother. The twins were that metamorphosis for me, and I bloomed into someone I never knew I could be.

I am now the mother of 5, with a 6th on the way! I never thought I would be that person, but I look at each one of my children and I know that each one of them changed me a bit in their own way, and I would never be the same person without them.

So happy 9th birthday to my beautiful twins! Next year is a big one!

All those other mamas out there- what are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

